How to Use the Studio USB Recovery Drive

Included with the 4K editions of Livestream Studio hardware units (HD51 4K, HD550 4K) are USB recovery drives, which you can use whenever there is a Windows system failure or any situation in which you would like to restore your system to Windows default settings. The full process takes about 20 minutes.

**Note: Please read and fully understand all of the instructions before starting the process. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact customer care.**

 

Before beginning this process, make sure you have your Windows License number available to you. It is included in the 'Studio Bits and Bops' box that is shipped with your Studio hardware unit.


1. Back up any files you wish to preserve. This process is destructive and will return the system to factory settings and result in the loss of all user files.


2. Insert your USB Restore Drive into any of your Studio unit's USB ports.


3. Power the system on using the power button.


4. Once the Livestream logo appears for the first time, tap the “F8” key repeatedly to enter the Boot Menu.


5. In the Boot Menu, select 'KingstonDataTraveler 3.0PMAP,' then hit the Enter key.


6. You will be presented with the main menu following a few seconds of load time. Your Studio unit's Livestream restoration option will be selected. Hit the Enter key.

7. At the 'choose language screen', press 'Enter' to select the default option of English.

8. At the “Configuring console-data” screen, press “Enter” to select the default option of “Don’t touch keymap”

9. Wait for the system to complete its image verification. This process will take about 10 minutes. ETA and
Progress bar will be visible on the screen to indicate the process.

10. Once completed, you will be presented with the following screen. Enter the “y” key on your keyboard, then press the Enter key.

 

NOTE: If you have not backed up any files you wish to keep, press “CTRL+C” to exit and secure your files. Progressing past step 10 will result in data loss.

11. Confirm your selection by entering the “y” key again and pressing “Enter” (NOTE: Data loss will occur
immediately once the 'Enter' key is pressed).

12. Wait for the imaging process to complete. This should take roughly the same amount as time as in Step 9.

14. The machine will reboot on its own. Your system should be restored to its factory configuration. You can now remove the USB drive from the USB port.

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.