Contact Us My Activity Community

I Streamed but I Can't Find My Video; Where Is It?

If you are unable to find the video on demand on an event that you streamed, there are a few possibilities for this.

 

Check all of your events. If you have multiple events on your account, it's possible the video you are looking for was accidentally streamed to a different event. If this is the case, you can download the clip and then upload it to the correct event.


Which option did you select when you stopped streaming? Every Livestream encoder provides three options when you stop a stream: Publish, Save as Draft, or Delete. The video on demand will only appear visible to your viewers if you selected Publish.

Make sure you are logged into your account. Then go to your event page and click the Editor icon. Click the Draft & Pending Posts indicator.

Any draft post will be listed here. Click the post to edit it.

Scroll down in the editor and select Publish Immediately, then click Post Now. Your video will now be published.

If you selected Delete when you finished streaming, the video archive of your stream is unfortunately lost and not recoverable by Livestream. However, if you used Livestream Producer or Livestream Studio to stream, by default an .mp4 of your stream saved onto your hard drive by default. Check your "Videos" (Windows) or "Movies" (Mac) folder.

  

Did you stream via RTMP? Check your settings. If you used a third-party encoder to stream to your event, you would have configured how your VOD is handled when you obtained your RTMP URL and Stream Key. In your event, go to the Edit Drawer > Live Tools; scroll down to find the RTMP Input settings and click Get Link.

By default the stream key is configured to not save your VOD. If you want to save your VOD to Livestream when your broadcast ends, you must toggle on Save ended broadcast as video recording. Then to ensure the VOD is published to your event page, you must also check Auto-post video to event feed.

If your video did not save, check the stream key in your encoder. If ends with p=0, then the video will not save. The p=2 parameter will save it as a draft, and p=1 will publish the VOD.

 

Are you subscribed to a plan? Any event that was streamed on a free trial is deleted 30 days after the trial expires. Any event that was on a paid account at the time it was streamed, and then was canceled, will be deleted 30 days after the downgrade takes effect. Multiple emails are sent to the email address associated with the account in advance of this occurring. Please make sure to add notifications@e.livestream.com to your contact list.

Have more questions? Submit a request

0 Comments

Please sign in to leave a comment.